Home » Focus On God » Easter 2022

Easter 2022

65 years ago, the 19th of April landed on Good Friday; and I happened to be born.

40 years ago, I chose to give my life and heart to Jesus Christ in Baptism; and I was born again.

I didn’t plan to be raised to new life on the same day somebody chose to call Easter. It was Thursday night I made the decision but when I called the minister he said come forward on Sunday, so I did.

Sitting in Church today I contemplated the last 40 years. Back then when I shared my new faith some thought the fowl mouth, druggie drunk chick was going through a little phase and she would be back soon, and trust me she tried! Sadly, I’ve fallen flat on my face more than I’d care to admit, and to be honest I think I have a better understanding of the Israelites journey through the desert.

It would break my heart if, in any of my failing moments; I failed you. If you have seen me weak and thought “if this is what Christianity is, then I don’t want anything to do with your Christ” please know I am very sorry. What you haven’t seen were the hours of tears and shame. What you haven’t seen are the countless times my Heavenly Father came running towards me with forgiving arms opened wide. What you haven’t seen is His grace, His mercy and His overwhelming peace saying “get up. Try again, I’ve got you. You can do this. I’m worth it. I’m here. I’m enough!”

For those who look at people who strive to be Christians and fall at time and only see hypocrites, please for one minute try to see the other side of the coin: on the ‘Good Friday’ when Jesus died on the cross for all sins, for all time He knew I would fall, AND HE DIED ANYWAY! This is not an excuse to sin by any means; but I’ve learned if we could be perfect, He would not have to had been born. He would not have to had die. He would not have to had raise from the dead. By the way He didn’t have to, He wanted to! He wanted to do it for you! When you see me fall and get up again-don’t see hypocrisy- see hope! Because what He did for me, He did for you too!

Happy Easter

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.