Home » Focus On God » A Day of Wishes

A Day of Wishes

Matthew R Hesen (1927-2010) in my opinion was a great father.  He wasn’t perfect if compared with fathers’ of the 50’s shows; but he wasn’t a buffoon like fathers in shows of the 80’s and 90’s. He had his problems and made mistakes and some of my sibs may say there were too many to call him GREAT. I say he is great because he taught me how to better myself after making my own mistakes by watching him do it.

I feel bad for people who don’t learn from their fathers how to grow wings and fly out of the ashes we sometimes make of our lives. I really feel bad for those whose fathers didn’t show compassion, love, forgiveness and acceptance as a young child or to adult child.

I especially feel bad when people are told God loves us like a Father loves his children, and they say they don’t want that kind of ‘love’ because of abuse, neglect or just plain absence. I guess accepting God’s love was easy for me because I saw those characteristics in my father.

I wish I could see my father today.

I wish I could hug him.

I wish I could hear his voice.

I wish I had more time with him.

I guess it doesn’t help that in a few days it will be 10 years since he passed away.

Happy Heavenly Father’s Day Daddy!

combinedwith girlsDaddy in Navy

 

One thought on “A Day of Wishes

  1. What a great tribute to your Dad, Jenny. From the few times I spent time with him, it is easy to see him in you. My favorite was our day in Sandpoint, ID. When he stopped to smell the flower and pick one to keep in his book it reminded me of something you would do. Always noticing the little things and taking great joy in them. I’m grateful for him being your Dad because he helped form you into the best friend I’ve ever had.
    Thank you for sharing all of the photos with us too.
    Blessings and love,
    Betsy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.