Home » eating right » Day 269- God knows what I need

Day 269- God knows what I need

     I’ve been thinking about searching for some tips to get through this season and I’m still so crazy busy that it’s not going to happen this week. Then I was thinking about what Bible scripture to read this week and I couldn’t think of anything so I did what I always do when I don’t have a clue: I put the Bible behind my back and flip it many times where I didn’t know front from back and opened it.

     I figure God knows what I need to read more than I do anyway, so I let Him lead me. At least that is how I like to look at it. I may get to Heaven and God may tell me that that is really was just chance, but I like giving Him the credit and I like to think He likes it too.

     What I opened to was Judges 13 which is the story of Samson. I noticed his story went to chapter 16. That would be a chapter a day, getting me through the rest of this week. I like that idea because what I remember of the story is that Samson can be my story too.

     Samson was set aside to be a man of God; I have been set aside to be a child of God. He had great strength and didn’t use it like he should have; I have been given strength to overcome temptations and I don’t use it like I should either. He gave into his temptations; I do too. He came back to his senses; just like me.

     Maybe by reading his story I’ll see other ways I can learn from his life and death. I am excited for this weeks readings. Because it will be a bit long I will not be writing my prayers, although I will be praying. Plus I will be watching myself as the candy will be everywhere this week!

Prayer:

Lord I look forward to what You want to teach me this week and what I can glean from the story of Samson. I know in  2 Timothy 3:16 You say that all scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, therefore I know this story of Samson will teach me something. There is something in his life and death that can help me be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

As I am to pray without ceasing I continue this prayer throughout the day…..

Leave a Reply

